January 2016 Carnival of Aces Call for Submissions

I am very excited to be hosting the first 2016 Carnival of Aces, which is also my first time to be host!

The “Carnival of Aces” is a blogging carnival where each month people are invited to write on a specific topic that is related to asexuality/the ace spectrum in some way.

(Also, vloggers are invited to speak on the topic in videos, artists/poets invited to be inspired by the topic, etc — whatever format you wish to participate with, please, use that format.)

The masterpost of all of the other amazing topics previous carnivals can be found here.

December’s was on “Staying in the Closet” and was hosted by Sara over at The Asexuality Blog.

I played around with a lot of ideas for topics that I am interested in reading other perspectives/experiences about, and it was hard to decide on just one. But I think I’ve finally chosen  “Relationship Stages” for January and maybe I can host more in the future with the other topics I thought of.

I know there have already been several carnival topics revolving around “relationships” but I want to draw attention to a specific aspect. The main idea that drew me to this topic was I’m curious to hear more about other people’s thoughts on/experiences with “flirting” and on even just getting started on potential partnership relationships, but obviously the topic is open to things beyond that. So potentially people can post and have conversations on

    • What is flirting? What does it look like? Can you recognize it? How does it make you feel?
    • If you want a specific kind of relationship, how do you go about looking for someone(s) to develop that kind of relationship with?
    • What do you do to get a know a person?
    • Do you go looking to start a specific relationship intentionally or do you wait to see if it happens serendipitously?
    • What kind of stages are there as your relationship develops? Is “stages” even a helpful concept when thinking about the development of relationships?
    • Do you start off with an ideal image of your relationship member(s) or are you just open to seeing what works?
    • Do you talk about the “state” of your relationship with the involved member(s) often? Why or why not?
    • How do you know when you are getting “closer” to someone? How do you know when someone is feeling “closer” to you? What happens when you feel differently from each other?
    • What are signs that a relationship is growing distant? How do you handle the situation?
    • How does being in one kind of relationship affect your other relationships? How does the development of one kind of relationship affect the development of your other relationships?
    • and anything else that the topic generates ideas on!

*Note that these topics apply to anything under the umbrella term “relationship”: friendship, queerplatonic friendship, queerplatonic partnership, romantic, polyamorous partnerships, whatever.

Let me know in the comments if you have any questions or concerns.

To submit your entry, either leave a comment below with your link or send an email to me at veggychristian@gmail.com. If you would like to post anonymously, let me know and I will copy and paste text from an email into a Guest post on my blog.

I’m looking forward to seeing what everyone shares!

About kaleighaw17

An English PhD candidate whose interests include fantasy literature, animal studies (and veganism), asexuality studies, religion in literature, ecocriticism, race and gender and queer studies, tumblr, YuGiOh, and writing (fan)fiction.
This entry was posted in Carnival and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to January 2016 Carnival of Aces Call for Submissions

  1. Pingback: Carnival of Aces: Staying in the Closet | The Asexual Agenda

  2. Pingback: Letting Relationships Develop As They May | The Notes Which Do Not Fit

  3. Sara K. says:

    I see the pingback is already here, but for ceremony’s sake, I officially submit this post to the carnival:
    https://thenoteswhichdonotfit.wordpress.com/2016/01/08/letting-relationships/

    Liked by 1 person

  4. thicket says:

    h ttp://thicketofcomplication.tumblr.com/post/136889835224/dating-to-friends-in-15-steps

    Like

  5. Pingback: From Fandom to Family: Sharing my many thoughts

  6. Pingback: What Stage of a Friendship Am I Even In? | From Fandom to Family: Sharing my many thoughts

  7. luvtheheaven says:

    Sorry about the accidental first post that I’ve since deleted but where the pingback still appears here. 😛 Officially, I am submitting “What Stage of a Friendship Am I Even In?” here: https://luvtheheaven.wordpress.com/2016/01/15/what-stage-of-a-friendship-am-i-even-in/ I hope you don’t mind my rambling writing style and how many different things I touched upon in that one single post… 😛

    Like

  8. Pingback: Which expectations am I confounding? | The Asexual Agenda

  9. Pingback: Which expectations am I confounding? – A Trivial Knot

  10. Pingback: Early Emotional Stages | Myscape

  11. Pingback: “Relationship stages” – Atypical Amoeba

  12. atypicalamoeba says:

    Hi, i wrote this little something on my new blog. It may be little weird and i’ll put all the blame on the fact that english isn’t my first language. Nope, no other reasons at all that my writings sucky at some points. Here’s the link: https://atypicalamoeba.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    • kaleighaw17 says:

      Thank you! I read through it when you first posted and it was very cool, very thorough! I’m sorry to see you deleted it. But that’s your decision of course. Good luck with everything!

      Like

  13. Pingback: Asexuality and the Relationship Escalator – A life unexamined

  14. Pingback: Asexuality and the Relationship Escalator | The Asexual Agenda

  15. Jo says:

    Hi, you’ll see my submission for the carnival (Asexuality and the Relationship Escalator) in the pingbacks above. Would you mind linking to the one on A Life Unexamined for the round up please? 🙂

    Like

  16. Pingback: Stages in Relationships | From Fandom to Family: Sharing my many thoughts

  17. Pingback: One-sided relationships: in relationship limbo? | Cake at the Fortress

  18. luvtheheaven says:

    You probably saw the pingback already but um… Here’s my second submission for this carnival: https://luvtheheaven.wordpress.com/2016/02/01/stages-in-relationships/ and I was thinking of writing a third one but I am a bit late. It is now February in my time zone. I still probably will try to write it sometime February 1st during the day, maybe the morning lol… I will try my best. 😉

    Like

    • kaleighaw17 says:

      Awesome! I’ll be happy to wait on posting the final round up until later today if you think you’ll be able to write your third post!

      Like

      • luvtheheaven says:

        By the way, my screenname is ‘luvtheheaven’, not “Luv the Heaven” so if you could update the final round up, I’d appreciate it. Sorry to be so picky. 😛 Also my second post reacts to what Siggy and Jo wrote so maybe you should list all of mine (since you’re listing all the ones by me together) *after* theirs in the round up, idk. 😛

        Like

      • kaleighaw17 says:

        I made the change! Sorry for my ignorance there ^^;;

        Liked by 1 person

      • luvtheheaven says:

        Thank you! I appreciate it. 😉

        Although I’d recommend you re-read through the final “collection” post one last time and tweak it if you think you need to. I’m pretty sure you only cut out my part 2 to move, rather than moving all 3 of my posts as one unit in the round up, meaning some of the text might be confusing/now flow right anymore.

        Like

      • kaleighaw17 says:

        I appreciate your saying so, but I actually kept it that way intentionally ^-^ I like it having your Part 1 & 2 together like that, but if you’d prefer it somewhere else then sure I’ll move it!

        Like

      • luvtheheaven says:

        You can leave parts 1 and 3 together like that if you want, sure! But as it is now you don’t establish that part 2 is lower down or that I wrote 3 total. A new reader only sees:

        luvtheheaven started off writing in Part 1…

        and then in Part 3 talks about relationships…

        Siggy notes the distinction…

        I spent a lot of time just walking myself through my own experience with…

        Jo wrote a useful article….

        THEN, finally,

        luvtheheaven, in Part 2, responded to Siggy and Jo…

        so I’d just reword the part around the first time “luvtheheaven” comes up so that it doesn’t seem out of place to say “in part 1, and then in part 3” with no extra explanation about it. 😛

        You don’t have to change the order of where they are in the roundup or anything. 😉 I just thought it didn’t quite seem to make sense the way it looked now. You could say “luvtheheaven wrote 3 parts. Part 2 is linked further below, but she started off writing in Part 1… and then in Part 3 talks about relationships…” or something simple like that. Just a small tweak to tie it all together.

        But it’s up to you!

        Like

  19. Pingback: Relationships that lack stages | From Fandom to Family: Sharing my many thoughts

Leave a Reply

